Apple Dump Cake

Today’s recipe is for an Apple Dump Cake from Babble.  I decided to make this one because this is something my mother has shared more than once and she already knows how to make this.  I remember her showing me a slightly different version of this years ago so I’m surprised that she actually shared this.  Wait, maybe I’m not.  Her version only uses one stick of butter and can be made with any pie filling and then vanilla cake mix.  This one uses apple pie filling and spice cake mix with some pecans on top.

So first, I gathered all my ingredients and put them on my coffee table because my kitchen has horrible lighting.  Also, my cat is a nosy bastard.
20160123_141836

Then I followed the incredibly fast video directions.

2 cans of pie filling
20160123_142342

Dump the cake mix on top (which I deleted the picture of) and then cut the butter up and place it on top.
20160123_143404

After I did this, I just sat and hated myself for a few minutes for not paying attention when I cut the butter to make sure I had an even number of squares.  I will probably never get over this.

Then I added the chopped pecans and cinnamon.  It wasn’t until about 2 minutes ago that I realized the post did actually say to use 1 cup of chopped pecans.  I was under the impression that they didn’t care how much you used so I dumped out the half full bag we already had into the Ninja to chop it and called it a day.
20160123_143515

Finally, you put it into a 350 degree oven for 40 minutes to bake and then you get this.
20160123_152750

20160123_160429

Overall, this recipe is really easy and pretty good.  I do not think you actually need 2 sticks of butter on top because I have made a similar version with 1 stick and it was fine.  I’d probably make this again the next time I want dessert but don’t want to put a lot of effort in.

Check out my Instagram @yourmomsposts

Leave a Reply

