Cauliflower Fried Rice

My mom shared this recipe for cauliflower fried rice from Tip Hero.

So first I had to grind up some cauliflower.  It said to use a food processor, which we do not own.  We do have a Ninja but I had to do it in a few batches in order to get enough because the Ninja is small.  It did a great job of chopping up the cauliflower though.

20160130_194218

I also pre-measured everything for this recipe like I did for the peppers.  That made it a lot easier.  I ended up throwing the onion and carrots into the Ninja to make things less complicated.  I also ended up using a can of peas since I was using fresh carrots.  Later on I regretted not buying frozen peas because the canned ones look so sad and gross.  You’ll see in the pictures.

So I started with adding oil to a really hot pan and cooking the onion, carrots and peas for a little bit. Just look at those sad peas.

20160130_200823

Then it says to push everything to the side to add the eggs.  I have no idea what the point of this was.  The eggs were going to cook whether they were with the other stuff or not.

After the eggs cook, you add the cauliflower and soy sauce and let it cook for 5 minutes.

20160130_201213

This recipe wasn’t too bad.  The whole cooking process probably took about 10 minutes.  I did feel like it lacked some flavor though.  I ended up adding some Sriracha sauce to add some spice and that still didn’t help much.   I might make cauliflower fried rice again but I will try to find a better recipe first.

20160130_201743

20160130_211457

2 thoughts on “Cauliflower Fried Rice

  1. Those peas look incredibly sad. Following the theme of this blog, I hope they were Le Sueur peas.

    So the eggs cooked, but I wouldn’t really call that an omelette so much as scrambled eggs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

