Healthy Ice Cream Sandwiches

My mom shared this recipe from Awesome Food a while ago which was taken from a video posted by Divas Can Cook.  I actually made it a few weeks ago but in the process of moving, I didn’t have time to write about it.

This recipe is pretty straight forward.  Bananas, strawberries and graham crackers are the only ingredients.  I’m not sure how healthy graham crackers are considering the list of ingredients, but I guess they are better than regular ice cream sandwiches.

First, I sliced the bananas and placed them on 2 baking sheets (we had a tiny oven in our old place) and put them in the freezer overnight… or 2 nights if you are like me and are too lazy the next day.

20160228_101321

I then put the bananas in our Ninja because we don’t have a food processor.  Our ninja is tiny though so I had to do 3 or 4 batches to get it all chopped up.  Doing this made the banana start to defrost a little and made everything a little stickier.

Next, I mixed in the strawberries.

20160228_162554

Then, you need to line a 9×9 pan with parchment paper and press the mixture into the dish .  Smooth out the top and put the pan into the freezer for 3 hours… or another day because you forgot to get graham crackers at the store.

20160228_162803

Once you buy your graham crackers, take one cracker and break it in half so you have 2 squares.  I placed one square against one corner and made marks so I knew where to cut the ice cream so they fit on the cracker. After you cut up the whole pan of ice cream, just place one section of ice cream between your 2 graham cracker halves and voila! Healthy ice cream sandwich.

20160329_164459

To store them, I wrapped each one in plastic wrap and then put them all in a freezer bag.  Since Josh hates bananas, I’m going to be eating these for a while.  They actually taste pretty good too.  I was pleasantly surprised.  The crackers are soft just like with a real ice cream sandwich. I wouldn’t mind making these again.

 

Go check out my Instagram @yourmomsposts!

One thought on “Healthy Ice Cream Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

