Slow Cooker Honey Garlic Chicken

This recipe was posted by Tasty, but their post was inspired by Damn Delicious.  I was pretty excited for this recipe.  It looked like something even Josh would like.  So first, I gathered all the ingredients.  I did not use baby carrots because we already had a ton of regular carrots so I just cut them up. I used frozen green beans for this because they were less expensive and the recipe never specified. My slow cooker is also a different shape than the one they used, which I didn’t think would make a difference.  It did, but more on that later.

20160228_143646

I then layered it like they said, 4 chicken thighs, half the sauce, carrots, potatoes, other 4 thighs, and remaining sauce.

This is where I started thinking my slow cooker would be an issue.  The 4 thighs on top were no where near the sauce.  It only had the tiny amount on top that remained after pouring the sauce in.  But hey, I didn’t make the recipe, so what the hell do I know? (Spoiler alert: More than Tasty.)

This all gets cooked on low for 8 hours or high for 4 hours.  I cooked it on high.  When there is only 30 minutes left, add the green beans on top.  This was seriously making my whole apartment smell amazing and I was pretty excited.

20160228_180042

Once everything is done cooking, it says you can broil the chicken.  I figured, might as well. I should also point out that I’ve never broiled anything before.  So in order to get to the chicken you need to dig all the pieces out.  The top 4 were easy. The bottom 4, not so much.  Not only were they under 2 pounds of other food, cooking them in  the sauce made them really tender so the meat was falling off.  I decided to just take all the other food out and put it in a bowl to make my life easier. You can see in the picture below that 4 of the pieces are darker than the others.  Those were the bottom 4.

20160228_182736

Remember when I said I have never broiled anything before? Yeah…

20160228_184014

So now that I burnt the crap out of the chicken, I wanted to use some of the extra sauce but I had to thicken it up.  I have ZERO patience so I tried to cook it on high and whisk in some corn starch.  It didn’t work too well.  I should have been doing this as I was broiling the chicken.  Eventually I gave up and used the slightly runny sauce.

20160228_184533
I should have been fancy and wiped the plate for this picture.

Overall, this recipe was pretty good.  The sauce was great and even the potatoes and carrots were soaking in it.  You could really taste all the flavors on the potatoes.  My only change for next time would be to put all the chicken in at the bottom with the sauce.  There was definitely a taste difference between the 2 sets of thighs.  I would also probably pay more attention to the broiler.

Stay tuned for more recipes my mother posts! In the meantime, check out my Instagram @yourmomsposts.

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Honey Garlic Chicken

Leave a Reply

