German Apple Pancake

My mom shared this recipe from Tip Hero a few weeks ago and I’ve been looking forward to it.

The one thing that I hate about some recipes is that they sometimes call for room temperature ingredients.  As I mentioned in an earlier post, I am impatient.  So, I set my alarm for 8:30 to wake up and take out the exact amount of milk and eggs from the fridge and then went back to bed for an hour while they warmed up.  This was probably my best idea all week.

After I got up the second time, I was ready to cook.  First up, get all my ingredients.

IMG_0033

The written recipe tells you to make the batter first by combining the flour, sugar, eggs and milk.  The video, however, has you do this step after the apples cook.  It actually makes more sense to do it as the apples are cooking or else you just get to watch apples cook for 5 minutes.

I made the batter first and then cooked the apples. The recipe also calls for 4 tablespoons of butter, divided, but doesn’t tell you how to divide it.  Using it 2 tablespoons at a time was a correct assumption.

After the apples are done cooking, transfer them to a plate. It said to wipe the skillet clean with a paper towel but I regretted it later.  I wasted some pretty good cinnamon sugar butter that would have been awesome to pour on top before serving.

Next, I heated the skillet in the oven for 9 minutes.  I took out the pan, melted the butter and then added the apples and batter before returning it to the over for 18 minutes.

Finally, I took it out of the oven and sprinkled it with powdered sugar.  When you first take the pan out, the pancake will be high above the pan.  Once it cools slightly, it will shrink down.

IMG_0053

IMG_0059

This recipe was fantastic.  Very easy and worth waking up an hour early to get the milk and eggs room temperature.  The next time I make this, I am going to try saving some of that butter for the top and I’ll report back.

IMG_0061
As you can see, Josh and I hated it.

Check out my Instagram for more fun pictures @yourmomsposts!

Leave a Reply

