French Toast Roll Ups

This recipe from The Baker Mama looked so good.  I had high hopes for this one and I was not disappointed.

IMG_0122

First, I gathered all of my ingredients and placed them on my coffee table to take this picture. I hate how many dishes I had to use for this.

I cut all of the crusts off of 8 slices of bread and rolled them out.  As you can see from the picture, I didn’t roll them very well and the corners are still fluffy.  This did not really make a difference.   I took a shallow bowl and whisked the eggs and milk together and set that aside.

The recipe also said to combine the sugar and cinnamon for sprinkling on at the end ahead of time.  What I didn’t realize until I was measuring everything was that I did not have as much cinnamon as I thought I did.  I did, however, have one of those grinders with the cinnamon and sugar in it already.  I spent more time than I’d like to admit grinding that damn thing into a bowl.

Then, I melted the butter in a pan (recipe says to melt it in a microwave but we don’t have one) and stirred in the sugar, brown sugar, and cinnamon. I transferred this to a smaller bowl so I could assemble these roll ups away from the oven.  Take a slice of bread and spread some of the mixture onto it and then roll it up.  It said to do a thin layer but I guess the first few I used too little because I ended up having to cut and roll out 3 more slices of bread.

Once you have them all rolled, melt butter in a pan and place them in.  The recipe says to use a large non stick pan.  I used a cast iron skillet and had no problems.  I apparently did not take a picture of the cooking process, but look how pretty they are when they’re done!

IMG_0137

These were incredibly delicious.  Luckily, I made some turkey bacon as well because this would not have been sufficient for Josh and myself.  I should have made a double batch.  As we were eating Josh suggested I put the bacon inside the roll up instead.  I will report back on that one.  In the meantime, go make some of these yourself and tell me how you liked them.

Check out my Instagram @yourmomsposts for more pictures of food on my coffee table!

Leave a Reply

