Jam-Stuffed Peanut Butter Balls

Another way to eat my favorite sandwich? Sign me up!

These Jam-Stuffed Peanut Butter Balls are from Tasty (full recipe here).

This recipe makes 8-9 balls.  I’m sorry, but can I just take a time out to say that every time I type the word “balls,” I am giggling.  I am secretly 10 years old.

Ok, back to adulting.

This recipe calls for 4 ingredients:

1 cup peanut butter (we use creamy, but chunky could also do the trick)
1 cup quick oats, plus more for coating (make sure they’re quick oats and not old-fashioned)
1/2 cup powdered sugar
Strawberry jam (or whatever your favorite jam is)

IMG_0184

First, spoon out 9 teaspoon size balls of jam onto a baking sheet or plate lined with parchment paper and pop them into the freezer for 30 minutes.  They say this will make the jelly firmer but this didn’t work for me.  Since I have ZERO patience I said “Eh, good enough” and used them anyway.

IMG_0188

Mix the peanut butter, sugar, and oats in a bowl.  I’m not exactly sure why you need to add sugar to this. I mean, I followed the recipe, but I just thought it was useless.  Did I try another batch without sugar to prove my point? Absolutely not.

Take a hunk of the PB mixture and flatten it in your hand, place one ball of jelly in the center, and close the PB mixture around it.  Roll the ball in your hand until it is smooth. Repeat until all the mixture and jelly balls (haha) are gone.  Roll each ball in oats and place in the fridge to chill.

IMG_0199

Something I would like to mention is how large these things are.  Like holy hell they’re big.  I was thinking they’d be like bite size snacks.  They are not.

Also, make sure you will be uninterrupted while you make these.  Your hands will be covered in peanut butter.

Now the moment of truth, were they good? Sure.  However, they clearly contain a hug amount of PB and you will need milk to wash it down.

I don’t foresee making these again.  I’d rather just make a sandwich… like the good wife I am.  LOLOLOLOLOLOL

no-you-make-me-a-sandwich

Check out my Instagram @yourmomsposts!

 

2 thoughts on “Jam-Stuffed Peanut Butter Balls

Leave a Reply

