Baked Cream Cheese and Chicken Taquitos

Well, this post from Food Done Good did not come with any written instructions like most of the other posts.  Because of this, I totally forgot to include tortillas on my shopping list.  Luckily, I remembered when we went out the next day and we picked some up.  I would have been super pissed if I started making them and then realized it.

Here’s what you need:
3 cups cooked chicken
6 oz cream cheese
1/3 cup sour cream
1/2 cup salsa
1 1/2 cup spinach, rough chopped
1 1/2 cup cheese
Small tortillas (I used 20- 6 inch corn ones.)

IMG_0306

Mix all the ingredients, minus the tortillas, in a large bowl.

Scoop some of the mixture onto the tortilla, roll tightly, and place in baking dish.  I couldn’t tell you the exact amount we used, and the video doesn’t say either.  Just put enough so that it is full, but not impossible to roll.  This is how I got 20 of them.  I ended up filling a 13 x 9 dish and a 9 x 9.

IMG_0310

Bake at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes.

Take it out of the oven and eat all of them.

IMG_0313

The one complaint I had about these was that they weren’t spicy.  I probably should have gotten spicier salsa or added hot sauce or any kind of spices really.  I might try tossing the chicken in taco seasoning first.  I just thought of that, right now, as I was typing.  That might give it even more flavor.  Maybe even just throw some seasoning into the whole mixture.  I’ll try that for next time and report back.

IMG_0316
Look at that beautiful scratched plastic plate!

In the meantime, try it for yourselves and let me know how you like the recipe. Head to my Instagram @yourmomsposts and tell me all about it.

 

Leave a Reply

