How To Maximize Kitchen Drawer Space

Nifty (by Buzzfeed) shared this post about how to maximize your drawer space by using foam board, wrapping paper, tape and a knife.  This project cost me $3 because I bought it all at the Dollar Tree.  Since my drawers are already organized, I volunteered Stephanie’s messy kitchen drawer.

IMG_0235

Here is the before picture of her drawer. This was exactly how it looked.

IMG_0232

Now, since this drawer is not just for her larger utensils, she has a tray for her forks, spoons and knives.  This needed to stay in the drawer because it was the best place for it so I made it work.

First we cleared out the drawer and measured it to line the bottom with wrapping paper.

IMG_0259

Next I put the utensil organizer back in and we mapped out how many slots she wanted and how big they needed to be. We only cut one divided out of foam board and wrapped it to make sure it fit before we kept cutting.

IMG_0265

Once we put it in place, we cut out 2 more of the exact same size for the diagonal sections and one smaller one to section off the space behind the organizer.

IMG_0276

The post says to tape each side in place and then voila!  I put one piece of tape on each side, one on the left and one on the right, of the pieces like the video shows.

Later on I noticed that everything seemed to be moving around.  I don’t know if it was because of the tray being in the drawer but I decided to add extra tape. I put an extra piece of tape on each side so there was was tape on the front and back on both the left and right sides.  I left Steph’s apartment the next day and asked her to keep an eye out over the next few days so I could see how well this project actually held up.

One week later, and she says it is holding up well.  SUCCESS!!

I’ll probably try to do this at my mom’s house when she finally lets me organize her kitchen.  She probably won’t even remember she shared this video.

Check out my Instagram @yourmomsposts for more pictures and videos.

Leave a Reply

