One-Pan Mac & Cheese

Josh hates mac & cheese. More specifically, he hates cheese.  I know what you’re thinking, “Who hates cheese?” Josh. Josh hates cheese.  On the bright side, no one ever eats my cheese at home.  So when I went to my cousin Steph’s one weekend, I figured this was the perfect time to try this recipe. She loves cheese just as much as I do.  She’s the best.

This recipe is from Buzzfeed. Before I even got started with cooking, Steph and I had to go to the grocery store.  She is finally living in her own place and her fridge reflected that.

Once we got back from our shopping extravaganza, it was time to cook.

IMG_0203

I gathered everything I needed.  Story time: I realized after we got back that I grabbed white cheddar cheese so our version would not look like the original post because they used yellow cheddar. Also, I brought that skillet with me to Massachusetts, in the car with my mother, because Steph told me she didn’t have one.  Needless to say, when I got there, she had just received the skillet she ordered online.

So first, add 2 cups of milk, 2 cups of uncooked elbow pasta, salt and pepper to the pan over medium-high heat.  You need to stir this a lot when it’s cooking so it doesn’t stick.

IMG_0207

Once it starts to boil, turn the heat down to medium-low, and continue to cook until the milk becomes a thicker sauce.

Add 1 cup of milk and keep cooking until the pasta is al dente and the milk is reduced. Then add the cheeses and stir.  I really just wanted to eat it right away.

Sprinkle panko breadcrumbs on top and then spray them with cooking spray.  Broil until the crumbs are golden brown.

IMG_0216

Yet again, I walked away from the broiling and almost burnt the crap out of the breadcrumbs.  It looked like they were destroyed at first but they ended up being ok.  Learn from my lesson and don’t clean up after yourself while your beautiful mac & cheese is broiling.  It can wait.

IMG_0218

This recipe was good.  I seem to be lucking out so far.  I would of course make some changes.  I am a huge fan of adding Ro*Tel tomatoes to my mac & cheese so I would probably do that next time.  I guess I’m just used to eating spicier things so I need a little kick in my food.

IMG_0224

Check out my Instagram @yourmomsposts to see the picture Steph took of me taking a picture of the ingredients.  Oh the things we do for our blogs.

 

Ingredients from Buzzfeed:
3 cups whole milk, divided
2 cups uncooked elbow macaroni
½ Tbsp. salt
½ Tbsp. pepper
¾ cup shredded cheddar cheese
¾ cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1 cup seasoned panko bread crumbs
Cooking spray

 

2 thoughts on “One-Pan Mac & Cheese

  1. This look yummy. Ill have to try it. Another great add in to Mac and cheese is Cauliflower, cut up to the same size as the pasta and thrown in at the same time, it beefs up nutrition value, hides behind the cheese (for picky eaters who like cheese), and fills you up faster because of the fiber!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

