Crock Pot Mac n Cheese

I love mac and cheese.  I already tried the One Pan version my mom shared and it turned out well, so I was excited when she shared this recipe from Tip Hero.  I will take any excuse to eat more mac and cheese.

So first I gathered the ingredients.

1 lb elbow macaroni
2 cups milk – the recipe called for whole but I used 2%
1 (12oz) can evaporated milk
½ tsp salt or more to taste
2 Tbsp butter
3 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese

IMG_0382

Throw everything into the crock pot.  The original recipe says to cook on the lowest setting.  I only have a cook and a slow cook option, so I used the slow cook.  It says to cook for 1.5-2 hours, stirring after 30 minutes and checking the pasta after an hour and 15 minutes.  You want the pasta to be al dente.  There was very little effort needed for this recipe.

IMG_0385

After it was done cooking I tasted it.  It was horrible.  It tasted like nothing and was just a congealed mess.  I added more milk and salt, and then threw in some pepper.  It still sucked.  I told Josh “I just don’t even know what to do to make this better.”  His response, “Throw it in the garbage.”  He was probably right.

IMG_0395

I ended going to the store and getting some Ro*Tel tomatoes.  I usually get the original one but I noticed they had a hot version with habanero peppers, so I got one of those too.  When I got home, I added one can of hot and one can of original and tasted it again.  It still tasted like shit.  After this I gave up.  I ended up eating it all throughout the week anyway but I did not enjoy it at all.  Definitely not making this again.  I’ll stick to the cast iron version. If any of you have a good crock pot mac and cheese recipe, let me know.

IMG_0396

Check out my Instagram @yourmomsposts for more pictures!

One thought on “Crock Pot Mac n Cheese

Leave a Reply

