Buckeye Bundt Cake

I bought all the ingredients for this cake from Tip Hero probably a month ago and just couldn’t bring myself to make it.  There was just too much involved.

Here’s what you need:
Peanut Butter Filling
– ¾ cup creamy peanut butter
– 4 ounces cream cheese
– ¼ cup powdered (icing or confectioners’) sugar, sifted
– 1 egg, beaten
– 3 tablespoons milk (recipe called for whole, I used 2%)

Cake
– 1 cup water
– 6 ounces unsalted butter + 1 tablespoon for greasing the pan
– ⅓ cup cocoa powder +2 tablespoons for dusting the pan
– 1 heaping tablespoon instant espresso powder
– 1 teaspoon kosher salt
– 2 cups all-purpose flour
– 1 ½ cups granulated sugar
– 1 teaspoon baking soda
– 2 eggs
– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
– ½ cup sour cream (I used Greek yogurt)

Shiny Peanut Butter Chocolate Glaze (Their words, not mine)
– ½ cup heavy cream
– 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
– 2 tablespoons corn syrup
– ¼ cup creamy peanut butter
– 4 ounces dark chocolate, finely chopped

See what I mean?  The amount of dishes I got dirty was UNREAL.

I decided that I was going to serve this at the mother’s day brunch Josh and I were hosting.  My mom never noticed anything else I made that she has shared so why not, right?  I decided I’d make the cake on Saturday night and then save the glaze for Sunday morning.

Another note before I get started. It would be SUPER helpful if you actually read how big of a pan you’ll need before you start.  In true Lauren fashion, I did not. More on that later.

Ok so let’s get this thing started.

The instructions make a big deal about slathering your pan in butter and dusting the pan with cocoa powder.  Apparently, it was impossible for them to get the cake out of the pan without it.  I was thinking this had to do with the fact they used a metal pan, I was using a silicone pan, but I wasn’t going to take any chances.  Rubbing butter on the mold with my fingers was so much fun. Psych. Also, please look how beautiful their’s is dusted and how shitty mine is.

 

First, make the peanut butter filling.  It does not state to soften the cream cheese but you probably should. Put all the ingredients into a bowl and mix until smooth. Set aside.

 

Now on to the cake. Start by heating the water, butter, cocoa powder, espresso and salt in a saucepan. Whisk it to take out the lumps and remove from the heat when it just comes to a boil.

IMG_0330

In a large bowl, I used my stand mixer, whisk the flour, sugar, and baking soda.  Add in chocolate mixture, followed by the eggs, vanilla, and Greek yogurt.

Here’s where the fun started.  It says to pour 3/4 of the batter into the pan.  As I’m pouring I realize that this is a lot of batter for my pan.  I quickly try to find where the recipe says the pan size, 10-12 cups, then look on my Amazon orders to see how big the pan I have is, 7-8 cups. Shit.  Well I guess this is also making cupcakes.  Took out my silicone muffin mold and just sprayed them with cooking spray.  I was not about to use the butter and cocoa powder for this too. Ain’t nobody got time for that.

IMG_0337

Now that you have some batter in your pan, place your PB filling on top, avoiding the sides and middle of the pan.  The recipe says to spoon it, which I did, but I realized after it would have been so much easier to put it in a plastic bag and pipe it in.  I did the same for the cupcakes.

IMG_0338

Then add your remaining 1/4 of the batter on top, or however much it takes to cover the filling in my case.

Bake this at 350 F for 50-60 minutes.

Cool the cake for 10 minutes and then remove from pan to cool.  It says you might need to use a knife to loosen the edges but I didn’t need to. I have no clue how long I let this cool for but eventually I covered it because I wasn’t making the glaze until the next day.  I don’t have a fancy cake holder with a raised lid so I didn’t want to ruin the glaze with plastic wrap.

Alright, the next day I woke up way too late and had to hurry up and make this damn glaze in addition to a frittata and fruit salad while Josh made waffles, hash browns, and bacon.  So you know, just a few things.

Since I was preoccupied with other things, I did not read the instructions well.  I added all the ingredients to a small saucepan on low-medium heat and continually whisked it until the chocolate melted.  What I was supposed to do was heat the cream, sugar, peanut butter, and corn syrup to almost a boil and then pour that over the chocolate and whisk until smooth.  Eh, whatever.  It still worked, so do you.

Now pour that delicious glaze all over your cake, and cupcakes if you’re me, and enjoy.

IMG_0357

If you seriously made it to the end of this post, I salute you.  There was a lot of shit happening.  Despite the million steps, this cake was delicious.  It was worth the effort.

For more pictures and behind the scenes shenanigans, follow me on Instagram @yourmomsposts!

2 thoughts on “Buckeye Bundt Cake

Leave a Reply

