Chocolate Chip Waffle Cookies

Cookies my ass.

This recipe came from 12 Tomatoes and if you make it expecting to get delicious chocolate chip cookies, you’re going to be pretty sad.

This recipe actually has oats in it but the picture did not show any evidence of oats.  Naturally, I was skeptical, especially after the healthy cookie recipe I made earlier. But alas, the picture was pretty accurate.

Here’s what you’ll need:
1 1/2 cups old fashioned oats
1 cup chocolate chips
3/4 cup flour
1/2 cup + 2 tbsp packed brown sugar
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

IMG_0418

First, I cleaned off all the extra waffle batter Josh left on the iron from Mother’s Day. Then I plugged it in to preheat.

In a large bowl, combine the butter and brown sugar. Then whisk in the eggs and vanilla.

IMG_0426

 

In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, and salt.  Slowly add this to the wet ingredients until well combined.

Fold in the oats and chocolate chips until just incorporated.

IMG_0432

Now it says to put a spoonful of batter into each section of the iron.  I was thinking this was just going to make one big waffle cookie, but I followed the damn instructions.  The recipe says to cook for 2 minutes or until golden brown.  I probably overcooked it. I have no sense of time and the waffle iron was on the highest setting.

And the moment of truth… one big waffle cookie.  Nailed it. I put it on the wire rack and broke them apart to cool.

IMG_0435

This time I just put 2 spoonfuls on opposite sections to avoid a monster cookie.  I only did that once because that was a huge waste of time.   I got 3.5 full waffles out of the batter which made 14 cookies.  Or “cookies” rather.  They are definitely not cookies.  They are waffles.  They’re softer than cookies but a little stiffer than a waffle and a bit dry.

IMG_0446

Save your time and energy and just make real cookies.  You can thank me later.

Check out my Instagram @yourmomsposts!

Leave a Reply

