Cinnamon Sugar Butter Braid

You know what I love even more than a lengthy recipe?  A recipe with ZERO measurements.  That’s exactly what this recipe from Tasty is. The video had a link to the “full recipe” which is just a Buzzfeed post that lists the ingredients as follows.

Pizza dough
Softened butter
Cinnamon
Sugar
Egg wash
Powdered sugar

IMG_0359

That’s it.  Seriously.  SUPER helpful guys, kthanksbye.

First, I made Josh make me pizza dough the night before. I’m sure this was unnecessary.  I was going to buy some at the store but Josh was all “Why bother? I can just make it myself.”

When you’re ready to start, clear off your whole counter.  Now our kitchen is a decent size but we keep things on our counters.  I had to legit clean off most of one counter just so I had enough space to roll this dough out.

IMG_0361

After you successfully rearrange your kitchen, put flour down on the counter and your rolling pin.  Roll out the dough so it’s flat.  I tried to make it as square as possible but eventually, I gave up.  It was just going to be an amoeba.

Spread your softened butter all over the dough.  I wish I would have just melted the butter and brushed it on.

IMG_0366

Sprinkle on the cinnamon and then the sugar.  I used a mesh strainer and shook it on.  That worked well.

Now roll your amoeba into a log.  I did not use enough flour because it was kind of stuck to the counter.  I added more as I rolled so it didn’t get stuck again.

Now make a cut down the middle of the roll and start twisting the sides together by laying one half over the other.  Cinnamon and sugar will spill out.  That is something they don’t tell you.

IMG_0372

Now connect the two ends to make a ring and place on a baking sheet. Brush on the egg wash and bake it at 350 F for 40-45 minutes.

IMG_0378

Dust with powdered sugar after it has cooled for a little.

Honestly, this wasn’t that good.  I was really thinking it would be.  It was pretty dry and just not worth the effort in my opinion.  Maybe if I would have used that dough in a can it would have been easier.

IMG_0389

Check out more pictures over on my Instagram @yourmomsposts!

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Sugar Butter Braid

Leave a Reply

