Samoas Girl Scout Cookie Pie

Let’s all just take a minute to admire the true hero who created such a wonderful recipe. This was posted by the page You gotta Share this shit and yes, you gotta share this shit.

The recipe does not say what size pie plate to use.  It never even occurred to me that there are different sized pie pans and the one I had wouldn’t be large enough.  So I bet you can now guess how this is going to go.

Here’s what you need:
1 stick butter, melted
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/4 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/12 cups chocolate chips
1 cup shredded coconut
3/4 cup sweetened condensed milk
3/4 cup caramel sauce
1 cup melted chocolate chips

IMG_0451

First, you need to make the bottom cookie crust.  Take your butter, brown sugar, egg and vanilla and mix it together.  Add the flour and salt.  Stir until well combined.

IMG_0455

I sprayed my pie plate and then poured in the batter.  Spread this out so it is even and bake at 350 degrees F for 10 minutes.

IMG_0456

Sprinkle the chocolate chips all over the top.  This is where it occurred to me that the pie plate might be too small.  I had watched the video several times and knew their chocolate chips were not as crowded as mine looked.  At first I thought maybe they just lied about the amount of chocolate chips.

IMG_0457

Now sprinkle on the coconut.

IMG_0458

Pour the condensed milk over top evenly.  This is the moment I realized I was going to have a problem.  This pie plate is practically full and I am not done adding shit.  I continued on and added the caramel sauce on top.  I am 100% sure this is going to overflow in the oven and cause a disaster.  Even though my mom did share an oven cleaning video, I’d rather not have to use it to clean off burnt caramel.  Luckily I have these mats made from kevlar that you can use on your grill or in the oven so I put one on the oven rack before putting in the pie plate. Sooooooo glad I did.  Anyway, now you need to bake your overflowing pie at 350 for 25 minutes.

IMG_0460
I forgot to get a picture with the caramel before I baked it.

About 5 minutes before it was done I started melting the chocolate chips on the stove in my makeshift double boiler of a bowl on a pan.  That was not sturdy at all.

In the video, they put the melted chips into a bag to pipe on lines because who honestly uses pastry bags. So somehow I manage to juggle this bowl and spatula and a plastic baggie and I get it all in.  Now, I just have to cut the corner off.  I realized that I used one of those sandwich bags that has the fold at the bottom so instead of one hole, I got two. I was also holding the bag in the air when I cut it so then chocolate immediately started coming out.  I was a hot damn mess.  So I finally start piping this onto the pie and man, I am doing a great job.  Looks just like the video. Nailed it!

Screenshot_2016-06-22-20-53-39-1

IMG_0465

Besides my chocolate looking like someone shit on the pie, this thing was delicious.  Mine was a little thick because my pie dish was too small, but still great.  Next time I’ll probably just make it in a 9×9 or make a little extra and put it in a 13×9 just so I can use the whole can of condensed milk.  I have no other use for it.  If I’m being honest, it’s probably going to sit in a container in my fridge for 3-4 weeks before I realize that it’s a waste and just throw it out.  I’m sure I’m not alone here.

Check out my Instagram @yourmomsposts for more pictures!

Leave a Reply

