Revel bars

This recipe is from 12 Tomatoes and the picture looked awesome.  I already had everything I needed for these so I got right to it.

Here’s what you need:
1 1/2 cups oats
1 1/2 cups chocolate chips
1 1/3 cups flour
2/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup unsalted butter, divided
1/2 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk- I used whatever I had left after the Samoa Pie
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

IMG_0507

First, take an 8×8 or 9×9 pan, line it with parchment paper and lightly spray with cooking spray.  I didn’t really understand why I needed spray AND parchment but, ok recipe, you’re the boss.

IMG_0510

Combine the flour, oats, baking soda, and salt in a small bowl.

IMG_0513

In a mixer, or large bowl, cream together 6 tbsp of butter and the sugar.  My butter definitely wasn’t soft enough but in case you haven’t heard, I’m impatient.

Add in the egg and vanilla.  Then slowly add the dry ingredients.  I added it in about 3 batches. Put this to the side.

IMG_0521

In a double boiler, or a microwave, melt together the chocolate chips, milk and remaining 2 tbsp of butter.  Stir until it is smooth.

IMG_0520

Now take the batter from the mixer and place about 2/3 of it in the bottom of the pan.  I tried to use a spatula to spread it out but it was too thick.  Just use your hands.

Pour the chocolate on top of this.  It says to “gently tap the dish against a hard surface so that it spreads out and evenly coats the dough” but that didn’t do anything for me.  Skip that shit.

Spoon the remaining batter on top of the chocolate.  Here is where I learned that I have no clue how to eyeball 2/3 of a mixer of batter.  There seemed to be a lot to spoon on top. I am nailing this thing.

IMG_0529

Bake this at 350 degrees F for 25-30 minutes.  I did 30.

After it cools it says to cut them into 1×2 inch sections.  Who are you kidding with that shit?  That is so tiny.  I cut them into 2×2 inch squares instead.

IMG_0558

These were so delicious.  A little dense for me but still good.  I made sure I split these into 2 containers, 1 for home and 1 to bring my coworkers.  Josh can’t control himself with desserts.  I made these on a Sunday afternoon and the container at home was empty by Monday night.  I only had 1 piece.

Check out my Instagram @yourmomsposts!

One thought on “Revel bars

Leave a Reply

