1-pot honey garlic chicken dinner

I feel like this was inevitable.  My mother shared a Slow Cooker Honey Garlic Chicken recipe that I already made.  In her defense, it wasn’t exactly the same.  This version was written based off of the video and even used screenshots from the original video in their post.

I made this again because I had mentioned in my first post that I might change some things.  First, I thought it would be helpful to put all the chicken in the bottom so that they all sat in the liquid while they cooked.  Second, I was going to not burn the shit out of them in the broiler. Third, I was going to make more of an effort to thicken up the sauce.

Disclaimer: I seriously half-assed this recipe.  I already made it once, I had made several other blog posts earlier, and Orange Is The New Black season 4 was out.  Priorities people.

I also forgot to take pictures of all of this because I’m a slacker.  So check out the original post to see more pictures.

So I made the sauce and cut the potatoes and carrots.  I put all the chicken at the bottom, the potatoes and carrots on top and poured in the sauce.  I cooked this on high for about 3 hours.  It says to cook it for 4 but we were in a bit of a time crunch because we had plans.  I say we because my cousin came down to watch OITNB with me.

I opened the lid when it was done and just took out a piece of chicken and a few potatoes and carrots.  I didn’t even bother broiling the chicken this time. There definitely was a reason they put the vegetables in the middle of the chicken.  The potatoes and carrots were all pretty much raw.  I didn’t have any time to fix the disaster I made so I just left it in the pot and refrigerated it overnight.

The next day I took it out and cooked it for another 2 hours.  This allowed the potatoes and carrots to cook completely.  I forgot all about adding the green beans to cook both days.  This whole thing was just a hot mess.

Once it was done cooking, I removed all the food from the crock pot so I could thicken up the sauce.  I added about a tablespoon and a half of corn starch into the sauce and whisked it until there were no lumps.  I have a regular cook button on my crock pot so I just hit that for 20 minutes and left the lid off.  I would like to be able to tell you that it took 20 minutes to cool down but I really have no clue.  For some reason the time never went down so I don’t know how long it really cooked for.  The sauce thickened up really nicely though and was just as delicious as I remember.

So long story short, follow the directions from the original post but cook the shit out of the sauce to make it thicker once it’s done.

20160228_184533

For more pictures and general shenanigans, check out my Instagram @yourmomsposts

Leave a Reply

