Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding

This recipe was shared from Tasty.  Of course it involves bananas.  I’m seriously convinced that my mom sees anything involving bananas and just hits share.

Here’s what you need:

6–7 slices of bread
4 ripe bananas
3 eggs
1 cup milk
1 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup chocolate chips

IMG_0684

For the bread, I used some Italian bread my parents had in their freezer.  They order Italian food from time to time and in New Jersey that means it always comes with a giant chuck of plain Italian bread.  So I went shopping in their freezer and took a bag they had and cut it up.

First, take your cut up bread and bake it at 350 degrees F for 5 minutes.

IMG_0685

While that’s baking, mash up the bananas in a bowl and stir in the eggs, milk, cinnamon, and vanilla.

Add in the bread and mix together.  My bowl wasn’t big enough so I had to use the bowl from my mixer to fit it all.  Add in the chocolate chips and stir again.

Spoon the mixture into a muffin tin.  I crammed it into one tray.  Bake it at 350 degrees F for 20 minutes.  I realized after I took it out that I probably should have cooked it a little longer since I used a silicone pan.  When I went to eat it, it was a little mushy and I’m going to assume the silicone was to blame.

IMG_0701

Let them cool in the pan for a few minutes and then scoop out with a spoon.

IMG_0704

In Tasty’s video they served it with ice cream and chocolate syrup but I was eating this for breakfast so I just ate it alone.  It was awesome.  I brought them into work the next day for my coworkers and they really enjoyed them as well.  Another successful post.  Why can’t all of my mother’s posts be this good?

IMG_0707

Check out some more pictures on my Instagram @yourmomsposts.

One thought on “Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding

Leave a Reply

