Upside down apple cake

This recipe was shared by Tastemade (full recipe here).  This cake is a little weird because you don’t bake it at all.  It’s all cooked on the stove.

Here’s what you need:

1 apple
1/8 cup raisins
2/3 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup butter, melted
vanilla oil- I don’t know what the fuck vanilla oil is so I used extract and hoped that’s what they meant
cinnamon
1 tbsp brandy
2/3 cup cake flour
1/5 cup almond flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
yogurt
heavy cream

IMG_0647

Before we start, they don’t really specify the pan size they used. I’m noticing a theme here with these posts. They just say frying pan. I had a really wide pan (10-12 inches) or a sauce pan (6 inches).  I decided to play it safe and use the larger pan.  Also, I don’t know about you, but I do not have almond flour hanging around.  I had to go buy a $9 bag of almond flour to use 1/5 cup of it.  Which, who the fuck uses 1/5 cup of anything?

They did a really shitty job of proofreading their recipe as well because the ingredients list says 2/3 cup sugar and in the directions it says to heat the 2/5 cup sugar in the pan.  I give up with these stupid recipes. There are other mistakes but if I write them all here you’re going to be too bored to keep reading.

Cut up the apples into 1/2 inch pieces.

Heat the sugar in the pan until brown and add in the raisins and water. Also add the apples here.  The recipe never says when to add them. Toss to coat and set aside.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs and the 1/4 cup sugar.  It says to whisk until it is light and fluffy. That took fucking forever. Add in the brandy, vanilla, cinnamon.

Sift in both flours and the baking powder. Fold that in and them mix in the melted butter.  Pour this over the apple raisin mixture.

Cover and cook over medium heat for 3 minutes.  Reduce heat to low and cook for 30-35 minutes.  I cooked it for about 25 because the batter was thinner due to the larger pan.  It is done when you can poke it with a toothpick and it comes out clean.

Now that it’s done magically flip it onto a plate and dig in.  This took both me and my cousin and we still almost dropped it.  The sugar part was super sticky.  When I ate it, it immediately stuck to my teeth and was difficult to get off.  I cut it up and stored it in a plastic container overnight and the sugar seemed to have softened up after.

IMG_0664

It was just ok.  Not worth going to buy a $9 bag of almond flour and wasting time baking in a pot.  Stick to a real cake.

Also, I’m sure you’re wondering why the ingredients list yogurt and heavy cream.  They said to serve the cake with whipped cream or yogurt.  Ain’t nobody got time for that.

IMG_0666

See more pictures over on my Instagram @yourmomsposts.

2 thoughts on “Upside down apple cake

Leave a Reply

