Upside down banana cake

It’s been a hot minute since I’ve written a post.  Life has been a little crazy lately with summer and trying to take time off.  But, have no fear.  My mother has not stopped posting things.

This cake recipe was shared by Tasty.  I’m telling you right now that I definitely messed this shit up.

Here’s what you need:

6-8 bananas
3 eggs
½ cup oil
½ cup granulated sugar
1 tbsp cinnamon
2 cups flour
½ cup butter
1 cup brown sugar

IMG_0814

First, mash 4-5 bananas in a large bowl.  They did not really specify how you would know whether you needed 4 or 5 bananas.  If they’re bigger, use less I guess.  Just wing it.

IMG_0818

Add in the eggs, oil, sugar and cinnamon.  Mix until everything is well incorporated.

IMG_0819

Add in the flour and mix until combined.

IMG_0820

Here’s where I messed up because their instructions aren’t great.  In a pot over low heat, melt the butter and mix in the brown sugar until it is dissolved.  They then say to raise the heat to medium and cook until it starts bubbling.  This is a lie.  You want to cook it until it cooks down a while and become a thicker caramel.  You will see why in the end.

Pour this mixture into a greased 9 x 9 pan.  Cut up your remaining bananas and line them up along the bottom of the pan right in top of the caramel. I would just cut them as you’re putting them in so you don’t cut too much up.  They don’t say how thick so just do whatever you want.

Pour your batter on top of the bananas and cook for 40-50 minutes at 350 degrees F.

IMG_0833

Cool the cake in the pan until the bottom is barely warm.  They say to use a knife around the sides if it needs to be loosened.  I cant even remember if I needed this.  Then you’re just supposed to put a plate on top and magically flip the cake over and it will look beautiful.

So let’s talk about what really happened.  I took the cake out and there was a puddle of caramel-ish liquid on top.  They did not show this.  As the cake cooled, it got this weird film on it and it was gross as shit.  After it cooled I was ready to flip it but there was still SOOO much liquid.  I ended up pouring out some while the cake was still in the pan and then flipped it.  Please enjoy this gross ass photo of the cake in caramel soup I ended up with.

IMG_0837

IMG_0852

Now, for the taste.  I was very willing to forgive the caramel pool if this cake was good.  I took one bit and it was crazy dense and gross.  I threw the whole thing out.  There was no way it was going to be salvaged.  Another waste of time.

Check out my Instagram @yourmomsposts to see the gross video I took of the caramel pool film.  ::vomit::

 

 

Leave a Reply

