Blueberry Loaf Cake

This recipe was originally posted by 12 Tomatoes.  I actually read the recipe ahead of time and saw that I needed a 9×5 loaf pan for this so I actually bought one instead of ignoring it like I did for the French Toast Loaf.  This blog is really getting expensive.

Here’s what you need:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, plus 2 tbsp
1 1/2 cups blueberries (thawed and drained, if using frozen)
1 cup sugar
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup Greek yogurt
3 eggs
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp lemon zest
1 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
powdered sugar

img_0839

First, mix together the 1 1/2 cups flour, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl.  Set aside.  I didn’t take a picture so good luck figuring this step out on your own.

Cream together the butter and sugar until it is light and fluffy (about 4-5 minutes).

Beat in the eggs one at a time.  Then mix in the vanilla and lemon zest (which my mother would never use).  This looks appetizing AF.

img_0844

Now you’re going to alternate adding in the flour mixture and the Greek yogurt, starting and ending with the flour.  I just did half the flour, yogurt and then the remaining flour.  Mix until just combined.

img_0847

In a separate bowl, mix your blueberries with the remaining flour.  Now, when I was making this I was like “You just told me to mix in all the flour. Where is this remaining flour you speak of?” Only later did I realize that the ingredients did say plus 2 tbsp.  This apparently stops the blueberries from sinking.  Since I’m an idiot, I didn’t coat them in flour.  I didn’t care about sinking blueberries.

Fold in the blueberries and place in your greased loaf pan.  Bake at 350 degrees F for 55 minutes.  Cool on a baking rack for 20-30 minutes before taking it out of the pan.  Dust with powdered sugar if you give a shit.

This was delicious.  I, unfortunately, did not eat this fast enough and it went bad but the pieces I did have were awesome.  Lemon and blueberry go really well together.  I will definitely make this again and maybe even remember to coat the blueberries with flour.  I was also thinking this would be even better with a lemon glaze on top.  I’ll report back on that.

Check out more pics and crap on my Instagram @yourmomsposts!

Leave a Reply

